Home » Uncategorized » Giving of Thanks

Giving of Thanks

Last year, when I was at Adelphi, I suggested to my mother that for convenience’s sake, I could stay on campus over the short Thanksgiving holiday (we had classes canceled Wednesday through Friday; it was a relatively short break, but hey–they canceled class for Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur, so I wasn’t complaining).  Coming home would just be a hassle, and I could handle being alone with the Asian population of Linen Hall and the unfondly dubbed Ghost Adelphi.  My mom said no.

Instead, we invited two of my friends, international students from the Netherlands, to come back with us to our house in Pennsylvania to experience Thanksgiving with a family instead of an empty campus.  It was quite entertaining for Will to witness my father’s uncontrollable road rage driving across Manhattan (favorite quote: Get out of the way, you freaking MORON), and Charlotte appreciated the chance to experience a part of the United States so completely different from Long Island it’s like a whole different country.  My mother really loved having them here.

Anyways, every year at Thanksgiving our family has this little tradition where we go around the table and say one thing for which we are thankful.  My favorite moment last year was when Will quoted Catch Me If You Can, saying

Two little mice fell in a bucket of cream. The first mouse quickly gave up and drowned. The second mouse, wouldn’t quit. He struggled so hard that eventually he churned that cream into butter and crawled out. Gentlemen, as of this moment, I am that second mouse.

It was brilliant.

So, this year, when the question came around, I hardly had to think about it.  I am especially thankful for my roommate Emily and my friend Ben.  This is a shout out to them, because they have made my first semester at Nyack more than tolerable.  Love to you both, and to all my other new friends at school.

So, who/what are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

