Home » Reviews » Movie Reviews » I finally saw Slumdog Millionaire!

I finally saw Slumdog Millionaire!

Maybe it’s a little delayed that I’m just now writing a post about Slumdog Millionaire because it came out in 2008 and it is now 2011, but don’t judge me.  I love movies, but I don’t often get to see them as soon as they come out.  This movie, for example, came out while I was in Argentina, and had already left theaters by the time I came back to the States.  So by sheer happenstance, I had not seen Slumdog Millionaire until last night.

I knew I would like it a long time ago.  A love story, trivia, flashbacks, ethnic/cultural exploration, gang violence–everything that I could ever want in a movie was right there.  Sometimes we get our hopes up, though, for something that we wait for a long time.  Sometimes we get disappointed when we finally see a movie after all those years…  Thankfully, I did not have that disappointment after SM.  Instead, I was even more blown away than I had hoped.  There’s definitely a reason that it won Best Picture that year.

I can tell when I’ve seen a good movie because it stays with me all day.  I went to bed last night after watching it still pondering different aspects of the film.  What could have been said, but wasn’t, by the characters, much like the way I replay actual conversations in my head (you know, when you wish you had been cooler or tougher or smarter, and what if you had been?).  I couldn’t think of a way to improve it.  It was just a thrill to relive it in my memory as I was falling asleep.  I don’t want to talk about the plotline or the social relevancy of the movie beyond saying that it was a captivating story and forces important issues of poverty and gang violence into view that need to be discussed.  I’m just going to say go watch it if you haven’t.

And I can really tell if I’ve seen a good movie if I have vivid dreams with complex story lines afterword, which I did.  The dream itself had very little to do with the plot of SM, but I know that the story was inspired by the movie.  Bonus: I remember the details of the dream well enough that I could write it down and turn it into a story or novella.

So though I doubt you are as behind the times as I am with modern movies, if you haven’t seen Slumdog Millionaire yet, go watch it.  It’s beautifully told, and it gets my cinematic seal of approval (which is actually hard to achieve).  I would watch this movie again.  I would probably even buy my own copy of it if I saw it in the store.  It’s a gem.

3 thoughts on “I finally saw Slumdog Millionaire!

Leave a Reply

