Home » Life & Relationships » Friendship » Pictures from Kansas! A.k.a. Pictures of Nyah, The Most Adorable Infant in the World.

Pictures from Kansas! A.k.a. Pictures of Nyah, The Most Adorable Infant in the World.

I’m not going to lie to you; I took a three-week long vacation from Huntingdon, during which I took approximately twenty pictures, half of which are on my phone, and 80% of which are pictures of my friend Kimmy and her eight month old daughter, Nyah.  Also a couple of really blurry/badly lit pictures of Ursula K. Le Guin.  BUT — I did promise to post some photos, and here they are!  Now everyone who stops by can see the beauty that is Nyah Mercy*!

Nyah with Kimmy's phone in Fogo de Chão, located in the Kansas City Plaza.  Yes, we dared to do an expensive lunch.

Nyah with Kimmy’s phone in Fogo de Chão, located in the Kansas City Plaza. Yes, we dared to do an expensive lunch.

Kimmy and I have been friends for what honestly feels like forever, but really only dates back to June 2006.  We went to the Amazon together with a big, awesome team of people that I was pretty good about keeping in touch with until like my sophomore year of college.

Nyah likes spoons.  Kimmy likes head scarves.

Nyah likes spoons. Kimmy likes head scarves.

Yes, indeed, we have been friends for over seven years!  That means we were both shrimpy high schoolers when we met!  Yay for shrimpy high schoolers!  But we lived in two different states, even two different time zones.  How would we ever make a friendship work?!?!?!  I’ll tell you how.  Voicemails.

Nyah likes cameras almost as much as she likes iPhones.

Nyah likes cameras almost as much as she likes iPhones.

Despite having been solid friends for nearly seven and a half years, if you add up all of the time we’ve been around each other in person, it’s barely over seven and a half weeks.  Which is heinous and can hopefully be remedied at some point in our lives.  She has been to Huntingdon once, and I have been to Kansas City twice since she moved there (and I have no experience of her Milwauke-an roots).

Nyah inherited that sweater from Kimmy's own infancy.

Nyah inherited that sweater from Kimmy’s own infancy.

So, I only have one more picture of Nyah and Kimmy from my camera, but it’s almost identical to the first one.  I only took my camera out on those two days, because while I don’t suck at taking photos in the artistic sense, I suck at taking photos in the literal sense.  I get too wrapped up living life, and most of the pictures I’ve taken over the past few years have all been of food.  But! now you get to put a face to Kimmy’s name, and Nyah’s as well, and you get to know that Kimmy is probably the best friend a person could ever ask for.  I love her to pieces.

Here’s  my crummy pictures of the decidedly not crummy Worlds Beyond World Symposium in Eugene, Oregon:

Can you see them?  They're a bunch of Hugo/Nebula/Tiptree winners.

Can you see them? They’re a bunch of Hugo/Nebula/Tiptree winners.

The conference was awesome!  And if I still weren’t in squee mode over Nyah, I would tell you more about it.  Perhaps another time, alas.  In fact, definitely another time, because I’m just not prepared for theorizing right now.

Of my two Le Guin shots, this one is clearer.  Blame the camera/the lighting.

Of my two Le Guin shots, this one is clearer. Blame the camera/the lighting/the bald guy in the corner/the wild heart.

*Last name excluded, but Mercy is a nifty middle name that I would not have thought of myself. I do have permission from the mother of Nyah (that would be Kimmy) to post these photos of the two of them.  And isn’t she just the most beautiful child you have ever seen??????  She has two teeth and can stand and she says dada and mama, and she likes to “dance,” and she’s just so wonderful and I can’t wait ’til she grows up, because Aunt Maggie is going to spoil her silly.  Seriously, I love this little girl!!  Kimmy’s progeny, for the win.

Leave a Reply

