Home » Life & Relationships » Nickel Creek, My First Love

Nickel Creek, My First Love

Last year, in the midst of writing my highly successful Fleetwood Mac Attack blog posts, the band decided to get back together for a world tour.  The tickets were over a hundred dollars  a pop, and despite a promise from Exy A, I did not make it to a Fleetwood Mac concert.

So when a friend of mine sent me the message that Nickel Creek was getting back together, I was elated but realized that tickets for their upcoming reunion tour would probably be impossible to get.  Indeed, tickets for the May 3rd concert in D.C. went on pre-sale the other day at 10:00 a.m. and were completely sold out by 10:05.  Tickets were $50, but being resold at $200 within less than 10 minutes after they went on sale.  It was impossible, it seemed, to get tickets for this concert.

Check out their new single, “Destination.”

So Nickel Creek added a second, May 4th concert in D.C., and my friend got tickets for the Sunday show.  Yep.  I’m going to see Nickel Creek in May.  And part of me is like, “Suck it, Fleetwood Mac.  If your tickets had been $50, you would have had my patronage like Nickel Creek does now.”  It should be noted that the second D.C. concert is also already sold out.  If you’re interested in seeing Nickel Creek, at the time of this writing, NYC, Boston and Oakland (CA) all still have tickets.

Nickel Creek is back!!!!!!!!!

Nickel Creek is back!!!!!!!!!

Nickel Creek is an important band for me.  Back when I was a freshman in high school, I was very much so involved in church culture.  There’s nothing wrong with that, but the music options within church culture in 2004/2005/2006 had maybe three or four standout bands a slough of copycats that just weren’t as good.  My friends and I all listened to the same handful of Christian rock bands as each other, and I liked it, but I didn’t love it.  I didn’t love music.  Then another friend showed me “The Lighthouse’s Tale,” and I fell in love.  He made me copies of all of their albums, and I listened to them over and over again, until I knew every song by heart.  They weren’t my first favorite band, but they were my first favorite band to remain a favorite band years later.  And they’re one of the only bands whose members’ solo careers I have followed (Punch Brothers is pretty much where it is at, yo).

Then, of course, just as I was discovering Nickel Creek, they announced that they were going to be splitting up to pursue separate interests.  My heart was shattered.

On August 2nd, 2007, I went with my friend and his family to Nickel Creek’s Farewell For Now Tour with Fiona Apple.  This is one of the last things I did in the US before leaving to study abroad in Argentina, and it was one of the best concerts I have ever been to.  Also, I was introduced to Fiona Apple (though it would take me a few more years before I became the huge fan that I am today).

Fiona Apple with Nickel Creek in 2007

Fiona Apple with Nickel Creek in 2007

Now, I’m going to D.C. to welcome Nickel Creek back with the same family that went to the Baltimore concert in 2007.

So I am announcing a new album review series based around Nickel Creek and its members.

Leave a Reply

